Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie’s IA 6.4 journey record
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
swapoer
Try to record my BGII IA journey here.
I am a long time old player of BG series with SCS mod installed and a newbie for IA.

Setup
Group
After rumbling through the forum, my group consists of as below:
 Minsc. He is an old acquaintance of mine. I don’t like his character much, but he is a powerful melee NPC in IA.
 Valygar. He is highly recommend by IA.
 Rassad. I have never tried a monk before.
 Anomen. I have never had this one with me before. I even never did his personal task.
 Necromancer. He is my main character, with 18 in all stats.
 Neera. I like sorceress for her versatility.

Mods
I have Anthology Tweak, EEUIT, IA, RevealHiddenGameOption installed.
I had Anthology Tweak remove all traps and set all locks which require no keys to have a difficulty of 1.
The EEUIT proved to cause CTD when recruiting new NPC. I believe it is the Center Dialogue component or the Journal Fix component. It should be the bug of mod itself. Nevertheless, this set up has no other problems so far and I really like the UI improvement which the EEUIT brought, so I will keep playing on.

First Chapter
There is no much to say. It seems IA didn’t improve the Irenicus' Dungeon. The sword of chaos and Armor of Death is a good suit for Minsc. The only surprise in the dungeon is the two lesser spirit spiders, which died easily from Magic Missile but proved problematic for melee characters due to its very low AC.

Some thought:
Horror proved to be a good AOE CC and allies friendly too.

Second Chapter
Finish the Circus, donated 4500 gold to the temple for 3 pts of reputation, recruited Anomen from CC, recruited Neera.
I found no good level 4 scrolls in Promenade, so my Necromancer could only memorize 2 Sunburst in level 4 slots.

Umar Hills.