Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [IA 6.2] Advices for a melee-oriented party
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
Tarnesh
Heya all !

I've been playing BG since its release back in the days, and I started playing modules 10 years ago or so.
Been trying a lot of them, but I must admit Improved Anvil is simply the best - by far - I've ever been given a chance to play.

I could probably discuss this for hours, but this is not the point here, as I'm simply after some advices for my new party composition. Tried out Vagrant and Necro runs lately, both on core difficulty, but I always end up getting bored once I get out of Underdark, my parties being suboptimal for the hardest fights coming up then. I underestimated the importance of damage resistance, and the lack of stoneskinned characters got my party nuked within a few seconds in several fights (in Watcher's Keep especially, and against golems in general).

I also tend to make as much items as possible, even if some are actually pretty irrelevant, so I eventually miss money for the best ones. I'll use a crafting planner for my next runs !

Even though i LOVE the riskbreaker kit, I also try to play with as much Bioware NPCs as possible, I like the banters, makes my party feel alive. Obviously, IA is not the mod for roleplay, but I'd like at least half of it to be vanilla toons.

Anyway, here is what I'd like in my party, knowing that I really tend to favor melees over casters, which tends to be a mistake I guess, given my brutish playstyle (stoneskin helps, again).

Melees : I like having 3 warriors, but I end up having to choose between Valygar and his awesome items, and 1 or 2 riskbreakers, knowing I also would like to have a potent 2-hander to wield those great halberds.