Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: IA Brainstorming
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
Ryel ril Ers
I open this topic to the players able to discuss our ideas, so we spare Sikret's free time, and he don't get useless suggestions.

I want to share my thought first about the IA's class system:

I develop RPG games about 10 years so i have lots of experience about creating game systems. There are two mayor mentality when you want to create a class (this isn't the only solution but the game engine only support this) system. The balance oriented development and the world oriented development.

The balance oriented planning
pros: every character has the same chance to become powerful
cons: sometimes ruin the world of the game and very hard to create it.

The world oriented planning
pros: very intimate and reflect the world of game well
cons: there are very weak classes and the fans of these classes become frustrating, and if they are beginner players they easily heat the game

The ideal solution is between the two mentality. The IA's class system are world oriented very much and I think need some rebalancing.
The vanilla game also world oriented there are powerful and overpowered classes and there are weak classes too, but there is a difference:
In the vanilla game you can choose any class for your party members (multiplayer) or only the protagonist (single player), and you can enjoy your game and you can finish it. In IA if you choose a bad character class than you only dig your grave and you will be very frustrating and not necessarry restart it again. When i started the game I choosed sorcerer and after that i choosed archer.

Maybe you can warn the players in the sorcerer class description to the spell system different than the vanilla game so read the official forum of the game, or use the pick me up button or choose a kitted mage instead.