Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie questions about IA
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
Dementia
Hi everybody!

I'm new to Improved Anvil and have heard a lot of good about it.

I have a few questions before playing:

i) I see a lot of talk about playing mage or vagrant, but I really like playing some kind of cleric ie C/R or C/F or a pure cleric. Can I enjoy IA without playing vagrant or mage?

ii) I don't consider myself a very good tactician, can I enjoy IA without being too frustrated. I accept reloads. But I would hate to sit a whole day not getting further. I would skip very tough challenges like the slaver compund but otherwise follow the plot and most else.

iii) I do like the banters of NPC does IA change that?

iv) Will I have to make custom NPC's? I would prefer to use Bioware's NPC or a few other like Xan, Auren or Kivan.

v) I never played ToB before, well I remember years ago I tried the big dungeon (I don't remember the name) but I didn't come through. Will that matter if I intend to play IA?

ahh well I think I got most of my questions. Thanks for your help in advance

Dementia
geh4th
I'm still relatively new myself, but I'll try fielding these for you.

1) The most new content for extended stronghold quests (as of IA 5.0) is for the Mage and Vagrant classes. That's why they're heavily suggested. Vagrants in addition will have access to some of the most powerful item upgrades available. I'd check out the item upgrades document in the read me in detail.