Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can I play Nej and IA together?
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
tobiasdouglas
Hi there,

I am a super newbie to modding BG2 but I'm very excited about creating an excellent install done to maximize the Bg2 experience.

I've looked around a few major Bg2 sites (including Black Wyrm) and I notice that IA and NeJ seem like the most popular full mods.

I've also read the installation instructions for both these mods. And this is where my question comes from:

Nej requires Baldurdash 1.66 while IA seems very strictly to say that the baldurdash 1.1.2 TOB fix is what should be installed. Are these two files the same? I'm guessing they aren't...and if they aren't it seems these two great sounding mods are incompatible with one another?

Thanks for the help
Hoppy
Their are technical differences between Bdash 1.1.2 and the WEIDU based Bdash 1.6.6 but the 1.6.6 adds some extra features like the Dakkon's Katana or Dual wielding fix by aVENGER. There were a few flaws with the Weidu baldurdash and our tests with IA6 so I am not sure how IA5 reacts in the same regards. It made a very tough fight even harder because of a bug.

I am wondering if the two could be combined in an installation.

Both IA and NeJ change Imoen and IA's version is not an optional component so don't install the Custom kit for Imoen via NeJ2 other wise your BG2 will be destroyed from Irenicus' Dungeon with a hanging cut scene waiting for an Imoen to show up. So if you are new to modding a game, I would try one and play through it to the point of making an opinio towards whether you like it.

While you are doing that, you might keep asking questions here about more compatibility options.

Also IA5 will work with Tower of Deception (at BWL) and The Four (just look at Sikret's signature in one of his posts). So there you have a good modded game (highly tactical but with a lot of content)