Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question about fighting Faldorn
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
geh4th
I'm a IA beginner, just started my first game on v5.

As with any beginner, I'm trying to adjust to the new tactics required by Improved Anvil.

I'm following the suggested path of early quests to try to keep myself from getting in TOO deep too quickly. I'm currently at the druid grove.

What I can't seem to determine - and can't remember from my days of playing Vanilla BG2, if indeed it was an issue - is how do you arrange for Cernd to fight Faldorn instead of my protagonist? The latter is a Vagrant, who at L8 doesn't seem to stand a chance at defeating Faldorn. I've tried a few times - with no equipment or magic to speak of, I'm wasted almost immediately.

My guess, such as it is, is that with multiple strongholds (Ease of Use) the game considers ME a druid and doesn't give me the option of having Cernd fight Faldorn. Is this theory correct?

Beyond that, is it that I am actually too weak at this point to really consider fighting Faldorn in the pit, and should count this as one of those encounters that I need to return to later? I've seen commentary from others that Faldorn was "too easy", but that might have been in reference to earlier versions of IA.

Thanks in advance to any who respond with information.

Great mod, Sikret. I love what I've seen and read about so far.

geh4th

(p.s. - I wouldn't think that anything I've posted above would be considered a "spoiler". If I cross the line into revealing spoiler-ish info, I'd appreciate it if someone lets me know. I don't want to ever ruin anything for another player, now or in a future post.)
Ymarsakar
SPOILER!
Use charm animals on the bears to get them as your allies and help get Faldorn's ironskins off, also use vampiric touch or larloch's drain to interrupt her spells. Those two tricks should win you the battle after a couple of reloads.