Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 8 - 10 level solo
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
urizen
I like a challenge, that's why I choose to play solo with a multi-class character. I have a lot of experience with tactics, cheesy ones and not so cheesy ones. The cheesiness of many tactics is a matter for debate though. I.e. my favorite current tactic: Chain contingency on helpless self > Project Image, simulacrum, (variable summon), then project image to trigger.

There are some tactics that I would just call "fun" that this mod completely removes as viable ways of beating some enemy's of the game:

1. Being invisible, hitting a mage who's casting truesight, then going invisible again does not do what you would expect. The enemies (usually hasted) follow and crowd your character no matter where you go. They don't attack, they just follow you. Not very realistic compared with the vanilla version of BG2 where they tend to wander aimlessly, just like someone really disappeared in front of them (allowing you to get behind them or off-screen).

2. area of effect spells are rendered completely useless by the mod since you can't hold or web the enemy (which most are now immune to), AND/OR you can't go truly invisible after casting these spells (see number 1).

3. Setting traps: I noticed that the enemies are immune to the spells for the high-level traps, couldn't they just take less damage or something? It makes getting your 20th level thief abilities seem pointless. I know it's unfair to set traps around a dragon and then talk to it, but there has to be a better way then nerfing the traps altogether.

4. Hitting and running away is pointless because of the extreme regeneration. Also if you are not a high level fighter with many hit's per round, you will see the enemy's HP going up faster then you can get it down.