Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Couple of questions
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
StrontiumDog
I intend to play through BG2 plus Improved Anvil (4.3?)and all the megamods eventually - I will be playing a BG2-Tactics version for now , as I want to try out some new megamods like ROT etc., and a Big Picture-BG2 version on the 2nd time round, so that I can properly compare all 3, afterwards(I'm a bit of a veteran, already with Tactics).

I just have a few questions:-

1) I heard that IA involves mainly, some very tough melee-fighting, with wizards/spells being relatively ineffective in battles versus opponents, since most/many are highly magic-resistant such as golems. Is this correct?

2) I read a Bioware forum post in which someone suggested that the ultimate (ie hardest) game was a combination of Tactics/Improved Anvil and Spell50, as well as DotQuestPack etc. However I thought that Improved Anvil wasn't supposed to be compatible with them, according to the Improved Anvil readme. Would it work if I installed all those mods or just , perhaps, just the relevant compatible parts of those mods.

3) Lastly, I rather like some of the Improved Anvil tweaks/fixes but don't like others. Would it be possible, in future, to select which specific tweaks we can get - or are there just too manyof those around for this to be practical?

4) What if I decided to install Improved Anvil but didn't like the altered spells but then installed all the spell-altering mods I actually wanted(such as ADPack/SpellPack/WildMagicspells etc.) - would this work or would this break the game(or make opponents too easy/too difficult etc.)?

5) The IA readme states that one should download Bg2Fixpack 1.12 - however, the latest version is now BG2Fixpack version 4. Do I ignore the readme and install version, regardless, or do I have to search online for the 1.12 version in order to avoid inevitable bugs occurring in my game?