Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spell memorization
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Released mods - Baldur's Gate II > Improved Anvil
Shadan
I am new in IA. Played BG2 some years ago, now I want to try IA. I read that new version will come out soon, so I have a suggestion.
In PnP version you can memorize a lower level spell into a higher spell slot. At least it is in 3.0 and 3.5, I am not sure about 2nd ed. since I am plying 3rd ed. since years. So you can memorize for example one lvl 1, 2 or 3 spell into one lvl 4 spell slot. This would help when you need important buffs for example Chatoic Command, but you want to use some ohter lvl 4 spells also...
Just an idea for IA 4.3. wink.gif
Raven
I think that's a good idea, in pnp it certainly is really handy.

Unfortunately, even if this could be implemented in the BG system, IMO it could be unbalancing because of how good some of the low-level spells are, for instance Flame Arrow, Skull Trap and Spook.

In 3rd edition pnp the lower-level spells are far more limited in terms of e.g. the maximum damage they may cause. Because Flame Arrow and Skull Trap have no damage cap in BG2, at high levels they actually deal more damage than some (capped) higher level spells.
Sikret
Plus, I'm a 2nd edition fan. smile.gif

BTW, welcome to the forum, shadan!

Shadan
OK, there is a reason about Flame Arrow and Skull Trap, but why is so good that Spook? Imho best lvl 1 spell is Chromatic Orb, but I can imagine that in IA with insane savong throws at NPC, CO is useless, then only Magic Missile left for lvl 1.
Btw I like that kind of killing when u bomb monsters with Greater Malison, Entangle, Grease, Web etc. then throw in some Cloudkill or other nasty damage over time area spell. biggrin.gif

Thanks Sikret. smile.gif
Sikret