Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Creation of Avatar BAMS
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Mod development resources & discussion > Modder's Studio of Arts
Gumbo Darksteel
Hi there guys and gals. My in character name is Gumbo Darksteel. If you guys don't mind, may I ask help regarding a process of creating a full character from scratch. I created a cartoonish(Well sorta) avatar to whom I want to implement in the game with working animations and textures but really don't know where to start, or what to look out for with naming conventions and animations in general. The current programs I am using are 3d canvas Pro for animation and wings 3d for modeling and UV mapping. Do I need to make a whole set of diffrent animations for a avatar when wearing chainmail, plate, leather, and without armor? and the same for the different weapon types in the game? I apologize for the newish questions. I am a avid 3d modeler and animator and I would love to create animations for the game. Thank you in advance.

Gumbo.
Rigel
Hello !

So if i undertsand well you had created a new skin for a new type of creature ?

The skins of creatures are animations in .bif files composed of several bams; some simple creatures needs 20 bams some complex creatures needs 60 bams.

You can find them in the bam directory with Near Infinity, you will recognize some creatures.

To import your skin in game there is a method who consist in the sacrifice of an exiting creature: you place your bams in place of the creatures bams.

bams are 2d images they are pieces of a 3d image, who make it look alike 3D; i think it's not so easy make a nice animation: i mean how to know take vues to make the good bams who will make you skin animation; and the much oyur creature is complex the much you will neeed bams to make a good animation.