Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Author in creativity crisis
The Black Wyrm's Lair - Forums > Mods under development - Baldur's Gate II > Inactive and waiting projects > Azure NPC
balduran
Shame on me! I am a writer, who cannot create a simple romantic dialogue. I wish I could use the poor excuse that I have lost my inspiration, but it would be a badly-sewn lie. I have all these ideas about what should happen with Azure, when it should happen, but when it comes to putting it together and creating the dialogue entries, my mind goes completely blank.
Domi
nothing to see here.
jastey
I wrote one romance up to now and I am not sure I want to write another one. On some talks I spent almost three weeks...
If you know what should be the topic of the talk you have a good start. And noone than you knows better how she should be talking and reacting. Think about different possibilities of how she could say it, write what comes into your mind (you can always change it later), think about possible replies while doing other things where you don't have to think (sitting in a bus, going shopping, etc.). And don't forget to have a pen and some paper beside your bed in case a good phrase comes to you at night!
Hopefully you get into it soon. I guess if the first start is made the dialogues will flow easier.
balduran
Thanks, this has been very helpfull. I hope it warks for me too.
jcompton
While it may work for Domi, I can't generally recommend writing dialogues directly from your head into .D format in most circumstances.

- It makes it less convenient to shift around interaction branching if you change your mind
- It's probably extra "strain" on people who are both learning the .D format and learning the ins and outs of writing interactive dialogue
- And it's much, much harder to proofread, particularly since many spellcheckers will object to the presence of all those tildes.
jastey